About District


Kallakurichi is one of the thirty seven districts of Tamil Nadu state located on the southern tip of India. The district headquarters is located at Kallakurichi. Kallakurichi district came into existence on 12th November 2019 when it was created out of Viluppuram district. The district lies in the middle of Salem to Chennai National Highways No.79 . The nearst Railway station is Chinnasalem and it is suituated 15KMs from Kallakuruchi. One can go to any corner of the Tamil Nadu as well as to other parts of India from here. The district has temples, mosques and churches which are very old and famous.

Kallakurichi is an emerging agricultural district. It is also known as “Home of Agriculture”. There are over 10 Rice processing units or modern rice (mills) both small and big in this town. Textiles, Jewellery and agricultural feeds are major businesses. The town has two government co-operative sugar mills and one private sugar mill, and one solvent extraction plants. There are many poultry farms in and around Kallakurichi. The name is derived due to the green nature of this village along the banks of the river Gomuki which nourishes the village by its water. It was under the great Chola empire. The principal occupation of this village is agriculture. There are a number of temples around the village. The famous temples are Suambu Sree Annamaliyar Temple, Sree Sadaiappa Temple, Lord Venkateshwara Temple and Drowpathi Amman Temple.The car festival for Sree Sadaippa Temple is conducted once in every twelve years. Thenkeeranur is the largest revenue village in the Kallakurichi taluk. It has two large lakes for irrigation one in the north and the other in the south. A co-operative society bank is located here to help the farming community.


Kallakurichi District lies between 11.7384° N, 78.9639° E with an area of 3530.58 Sq.Km. It is surrounded on East by Vilupuram District and south Cuddalore and Perambalur. The West by Salem and on the North by Thiruvannamalai and Dharmapuri District.

Administrative Units

At present Kallakurichi district comprises of 2 Revenue Divisions, 7 Administrative Taluks, 562 Revenue Villages, 3 Municipalities, 5 Town Panchayats, 9 Blocks and 412 Village Panchayats.

Geological pattern

The General geological formation of the District appears to be simple. The greater part of it is covered by the Metamorphic rocks belonging to Genesis family. There are also three great groups of sedimentary rocks belonging to different geological periods. The Kalrayan Hills in the North represents a continuous range of hills covered with some thorny forests and vegetation.